Jeff Davis County, Texas

Jeff Davis County is a county in the U.S. state of Texas. As of the 2010 census, its population was 2,342. Its county seat is Fort Davis. The county is named for Jefferson Davis, the 23rd United States Secretary of War and President of the Confederate States of America. It is one of the nine counties that comprise the Trans-Pecos region of West Texas. The county contains the Texas Davis Mountains American Viticultural Area, though only about is currently under vine. The McDonald Observatory is located near Fort Davis, and is owned by the University of Texas at Austin.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.