Southeastern Conference

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) is an American college athletic conference whose member institutions are located primarily in the southeastern part of the United States. The conference is headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama. The SEC participates in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I in athletic competitions; for football, it is part of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), formerly known as Division I-A. Regarded as one of the most accomplished sports conferences in terms of wins, the SEC is also highly successful financially. The conference consistently leads most others in revenue distribution to its members, including an SEC record $292.8 million for the 2013–14 fiscal year. The SEC was also the first NCAA Division I conference to hold a championship game (and award a subsequent title) for college football and was one of the founding members of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS). The current SEC commissioner is Michael Slive. The conference sponsors team championships in nine men’s sports and twelve women’s sports.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.